top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily

My 16 hour adventure to Lancaster UK

After an amazing summer at home with my friends and family on September 29th at about 7 pm I got on a plane to start my study abroad experience. I wasn't too nervous, I was mostly just excited to FINALLY be starting my semester abroad. I feel like I have been waiting so long for this day to come. My trip started off very well with no wait to check my bag and I walked right up to security. The TSA agent at security was so bored it looked like he was about to fall asleep, I was even the only person going through security at that time. After getting through security so easily, my luck continued. I got the aisle seat on the plane, the middle seat was empty, and the seat behind me was also empty. I got a good amount of sleep on my quick 6 hour flight to Reykjavik Iceland (still don't know how you are actually supposed to pronounce that).


My parents and I at MSP Airport

I had an hour and half lay over in Iceland which was the perfect amount of time wander around and eat some food at this point in time it was 1 am back home and about 6 am in Iceland. I was tired but still excited to be one flight away from England! For my flight out of Iceland I got to do something that I had never one before. We had to walk out on the tarmac of the airport to climb of a flight of stairs to board the plane. I thought this was so cool (that might seem weird but I really enjoyed it).

Plane Boarding in Iceland

My flight from Iceland to Manchester, England was only 3 hours but, felt way longer. This flight was a lot louder and not nearly as comfortable. Once I got through customs, got my checked bag, and went to the bus station. I still had an hour and a half wait for the next bus to arrive. While waiting for the bus I talked with a few students from Lancaster University that were at the airport helping students. We mostly talked about some of the differences between the US and that UK, how it had been raining all day, and what were studying. Once on the bus it was about a hour drive from the Airport the University. By the time I arrived at Lancaster University it was about 3 pm here and 9 am back home. Another student from the University helped me get checked in and find my townhouse. From there I was on my own to meet the people that I was living with and get around campus (this is the point in time were I started to get nervous).


I am living in a townhouse with 11 other people. They are all from England. They are Freshmen studying in Lancaster for at least 3 years and supper nice. There are 8 guys and 4 girls including me in our town house. The first floor of our townhouse is the Kitchen and living room. The next three floors each have 4 bedrooms and two bathrooms. The girls are all on the top floor (we all plan on just using the climb up to our rooms as exercise instead of the gym). A couple of the girls took me to get some food on campus at a place called Gregg's (they were so shocked when I said I know idea what Gregg's was). I spent the rest of the night unpacking and meet/getting to know the people that I am going to be living with for a little while. After being awake for almost 30 hours (if you don't count the sleep I got on my first flight) and traveling for 16 of those hours I went to bed early according to my house mates (8 pm here).


The last door on the left of the building goes into my townhouse


Top 3 Picture: The first floor of my townhouse

Bottom 3 Pictures: The view out my window and my room

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page